The 80th Commission Session of ESCAP – Leveraging digital innovationn for sustainable development in Asia and the Pacific

April 22
 – April 26

Heads of State, ministers, senior policymakers and other key stakeholders are set to explore how digital innovation can more inclusively contribute to the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) across multiple disciplines when they convene in Bangkok from 22 to 26 April at the 80th session of the Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (CS80).

Asia and the Pacific is uniquely placed to leverage digital technologies to overcome sustainable development challenges. Already, the region is recognized as a dynamic hub for digitally driven innovation fuelled by pioneering technologies such as Artificial Intelligence, Digital Finance, GovTech and the Internet of Things. Yet to encourage further ingenuity and tap digital innovation to bolster the huge collective effort required to achieve the SDGs, the region needs a plan.

During the session, government and sectoral leaders will also participate in a series of high-level roundtables delving into the region’s socioeconomic outlook, technological advancements and digital inclusion as well as identifying opportunities to fully unleash the transformative potential of digital innovations. A Digital Innovations Fair at the UN Conference Centre in Bangkok will further provide space to engage with a broad range of stakeholders showcasing inspiring innovations that are contributing to the region’s sustainable development.

For the first time, the Commission session will also be broadcast live globally via the UN Web TV channel, the official video platform of the United Nations.


Members of the media are invited to attend the CS80 in-person or via online webcast

Where: UN Conference Centre, Ratchadamnern Nok Avenue, 10200 Bangkok and live-streamed via
Register for media accreditation (in-person attendees):

For more information and full timetable of CS80 events:

For multimedia assets:

Key Speakers

  • Armida Salsiah Alisjahbana, Under-Secretary-General of the United Nations and Executive Secretary of ESCAP
  • H.E. Dennis Francis, President of the 78th Session of the United Nations General Assembly
  • H.E. Srettha Thavisin, Prime Minister of the Kingdom of Thailand
  • H.E. Sheikh Hasina, Prime Minister of the People’s Republic of Bangladesh
  • H.E. Samdech Moha Borvor Thipadei Hun Manet, Prime Minister of the Kingdom of Cambodia
  • H.E. Joko Widodo, President of the Republic of Indonesia
  • H.E. Sonexay Siphandon, Prime Minister of the Lao People’s Democratic Republic