The 2024 WIPO Global Awards: Unveiling the Finalists

WIPO Global Awards 2024
July 12
11:50 am

Twenty-five small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) and startups from around the world are finalists for the 2024 WIPO Global Award competition, which celebrates the use of intellectual property (IP) to turn innovation and creativity into tangible solutions.

WIPO’s Global Awards, in its third annual edition, saw an increase of 21% in submissions compared to 2023 and triple the number of applications received in 2022, with 667 submissions from 107 countries from across the globe. Twenty-five finalists have been selected for innovations in a variety of economic sectors, such as food, green tech, health, ICT, and the creative industries. Winners will be unveiled in a July 12 ceremony held during the WIPO Assemblies.

This year, some changes were introduced to the competition. In this edition, alongside the SME category, a startup category was also created. As for the selection process, it emphasized the companies’ contributions to the Sustainable Development Goals, which highlights the importance of innovation in driving sustainable development.

This year’s finalists are:

  1. AETECH, Republic of Korea
  2. BreastScreening AI, Portugal
  3. CMBlu Energy, Germany
  4. Craif, Japan
  5. EdukSine Production Corporation, Philippines
  6. ELICO, India
  7. Farmer Life Line, Kenya
  8. Francois Ier, Burkina Faso
  9. Hangzhou Hyperchain Technology, China
  10. Kedumetse Liphi, Botswana
  11. Laboratorios Luar, Argentina
  12. Meticuly, Thailand
  13. Plant Origin, Thailand
  14. Pluvi, Italy
  15. PONS Teknoloji, Turkey
  16. Preventix, Mexico
  17. Qnami, Switzerland
  18. RoboCT, China
  19. ScansX, Kuwait
  20. Sensio Air, United Kingdom
  21. SimpleEnergy, India
  22. Smart Healing Medical, China
  23. SYG Tech, Turkey
  24. U-Tech Kitchen, China
  25. Vivo Surgical, Singapore

The WIPO Global Awards 2024 winners will be announced publicly at a live-webcasted awards ceremony on July 12, held during the WIPO Assemblies, where winners will showcase their achievements.

A jury of international leaders in the field of intellectual property will deliberate to select eight winners. Three jurors remain from last year:

  • Gastón Acurio (Peru): chef, writer, entrepreneur, and gastronomic director of “Astrid & Gaston”.
  • Songgen Dong (China): Vice president of China International Cooperation Association of SMEs (CICASME).
  • Karoli Hindriks (Estonia): entrepreneur, CEO & founder of Jobbatical, a startup Forbes named one of Europe’s 10 Most Exciting Technology SMEs for 2018.

Five new jury members were added:

  • Essam Bukhary (Saudi Arabia): CEO of Manga Productions and expert in the creative industries, particularly animation, video games and IP management.
  • Philippe Dewost (France): co-founder of Wanadoo, Europe’s #1 internet service provider.
  • Sera Kyoung-a Eun (Republic of Korea): entrepreneur and expert in the development and spread of youth and women’s entrepreneurship, international business strategy, and industrial operations.
  • Zanele Mavuso Mbatha (South Africa): CEO of Bambili Energy, a hydrogen energy solutions provider and manufacturer of hydrogen fuel cell systems and their sub-components.
  • Lally Rementilla (Canada): Managing Partner, Intellectual Property-Backed Financing at BDC Capital.

Winners receive mentoring to support their IP strategies – including fund raising, partnership opportunities, publicity support and more.

The Awards aim to encourage the commercialization of IP assets by showcasing winning inventors, creators and entrepreneurs that use IP to achieve their business goals, generate income, create jobs, tackle local and global challenges, and support community and national development.